List of sagas about the Viking Age

To help get an overview of the Viking Age written stories, below is listing of the main surviving/known sagas.

      • Bandamanna Saga (The Saga of the Confederates)

      • Egils saga Skallagrímssonar (The Saga of Egil Skallagrimsson)

      • Eiríks saga rauða (The Saga of Eric the Red)

      • Eyrbyggja Saga (The Saga of the Ere-Dwellers)

      • Færeyinga Saga (The Faroe Islanders’ Saga)

      • Gautreks Saga (Gautrek’s Saga)

      • Gisla saga Súrssonar (The Saga of Gisli)

      • Grettis Saga (The Saga of Grettir the Strong)

      • Hænsa-Þóris Saga (The Saga of Hen-Thorir)

      • Heimskringla (Chronicle of the Kings of Norway)

      • Heiþarvíga Saga (The Saga of the Heath Slayings)

      • Hrafnkels Saga Freysgoði (The Saga of Hrafnkel Frey’s-Priest)

      • Hrólfs saga Gautrekssonar (Saga of Hrólf, son of Gautrek)

      • Jómsvíkinga Saga (Saga of the Jomsvikings)

      • Kormáks Saga (The Saga of Kormak the Skald)

      • Laxdæla Saga (Laxdaela Saga, or The Saga of the People of Laxárdalr)

      • Njáls Saga / Brennu-Njáls Saga (The Saga of Burnt Njáll)

      • Orkneyingasaga (Saga of the Earls or Orkney)

      • Sturlunga Saga (The Saga of the Sturlung Family)

      • Vatnsdœla Saga (Saga of the Men of Water-Dales)

      • Vôlsungasaga (The Saga of the Volsungs)

Source: List compiled by AllThingsViking (July, 2014)

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *